Baby Love Club

Baby Love - Baby Name - Colic Babies - Teething Babies

Newborn Babies - Babies Cry - Baby Needs - Fussy Babies






An A-z Of Baby Names

RRP $15.95

Compiled by Patrick Hanks, one of the world's leading authorities on names and naming, this new edition of An A-Z of Baby Names (previously Babies' Names) provides all the help you'll need to find the right name for your newborn.

Here are over 2,500 names in common use in the English-speaking world--ranging from traditional names from Katherine and Michael to Jane and William, to more recent coinages such as Bryn or Chelsea. Readers will find inspiration from plants ("Azalea," "Olive"), from precious stones ("Amber," "Ruby"), from mythological gods and goddesses ("Irene," "Iris"), from the Bible ("Aaron," "Adam," "Miriam," "Naomi"), and much more. Each entry includes the origins and history of the name and, when possible, notable bearers of the name in life and in literature.

The book is also filled with curious facts and interesting tales. We learn that "Casey" comes from folk hero Casey Jones, who acquired the nickname from his birthplace, Cayce, Kentucky. "Brock" was originally a nickname for someone resembling a badger. And "Rose" probably doesn't derive from the flower, but from Germanic words for either "horse" (Hros) or "fame" (hrod).

This reissue includes essential updates as well as a helpful article on how to find the right name or to create your own. In addition, an appendix includes thematic indexes for many name categories such as Biblical names, names from television and films, names from literature and popular culture, pet forms and nicknames, as well as a list of the most popular names by year and by region.

About the Author

Patrick Hanks has been a lexicographer and linguistic researcher for almost three decades. He was Chief Editor for Current English Dictionaries at Oxford University Press, and is now a professor at the University of the West of England in Bristol. His books include Dictionary of American FamilyNames: 3-Volume Set.


What To Name The Baby (a Treasury Of Names)

RRP $13.19

Few aspects of pregnancy are as emotional as picking out your baby's name. But nothing's quite as pleasurable as settling on the perfect moniker for your little one. Use this book to nail down your baby naming style and get lots of good suggestions for both boy and girl names.
Get tips for finding the perfect name for your baby.


The Coloring Book Of Celebrity Baby Names

RRP $15.99

Choosing a baby's name is difficult. In fact, choosing the perfect name with a correct meaning for your baby is an activity that every parent knows is full of stress with very often no relief in sight. That's why 'The Coloring Book of Celebrity Baby Names' was created as a stress free way to help mothers and fathers choose that perfect name for their brand new baby. Featuring over 120 baby names from celebrities around the world, every coloring page showcases several different suggestions for you to contemplate and color at your leisure. Helping you to make one of the most important choices of your baby's life in a calm and relaxed frame of mind.


A History Of The Babylonians And Assyrians

RRP $16.99

George Stephen Goodspeed was a professor of Ancient History and Comparative Religion, known for his writing on the near east. A History of the Babylonians and Assyrians is an expansive yet readable history of Babylonia and Assyria, from the dawn of history to the 6th century B.C.


Codename

RRP $18.99

Aspiring ballerina Dani Spevak is thrilled when hit TV show Teen Celebrity Dance Off comes to the campus of her performing arts boarding school. She trades the barre for the ballroom and gets set to cha-cha-cha to stardom with Hollywood wonderboy Nick Galliano. At first their partnership is awkward, because Dani is in awe of her longtime teen idol crush. But soon their chemistry is heating up the dance floor and the attraction moves into real life. Could he actually like her? Her excitement is short-lived, because someone wants her off the show. Bombs, poisoning, arson... Will Dani's 15 minutes of fame be over before she reaches age 15? Dani and her friends are suddenly at the center of some serious sabotage. And if she doesn't find out who is behind it, her next pirouette could be her last. It's like "Nancy Drew in toe shoes" in this light-hearted tween mystery, a finalist for Romance Writers of America's Golden Heart(r) Award for Best Young Adult Romance. What they're saying: "It reminded me so much of my childhood, and I have no doubt this would have been my favorite series. Young girls are in for a treat with Daniela Spevak pirouetting through mystery, mayhem and maybe a little romance. It's Nancy Drew meets Dancing with the Stars! What could be better?" - Broadway actress/dancer Cara Cooper (Jersey Boys) "Fans of Pretty Little Liars and Ally Carter's Gallagher Girls will love CODENAME: DANCER. Sparks fly, tutus twirl, and a clever mystery unravels in what is sure to become a favorite among teens and tweens everywhere. Amanda Brice's debut is a must read for every girl who ever danced - or ever wanted to!" - NY Times Bestselling Author Gemma Halliday "Amanda Brice's debut novel has something that will appeal to everyone, especially ballet enthusiasts, mystery lovers and fans of reality TV competitions. Even if you don't know a thing about dance, you'll be easily drawn into this quick-paced story with authentic characters and big stakes. I adored Dani and found myself rooting for this spunky heroine. Can't wait for the sequel!" - Rhonda Stapleton, author of STRUCK "CODENAME: DANCER is a mystery-filled romance that will twirl its way into your heart. Dani is a heroine every girl (and woman) will root for. This is a stand-out debut novel for Amanda Brice!" - Melissa Francis, author of BITE ME! "A perfect example of YA done right." - I'd So Rather Be Reading review bl



Search

Baby Love Club Articles

Baby Love Baby Name Colic Babies Teething Babies
Newborn Babies Babies Cry Baby Needs Fussy Babies
Baby Chair Baby Slings Baby Monitor Baby Chance

Baby Love Club Books

Baby Love Baby Name Colic Babies Teething Babies
Newborn Babies Babies Cry Baby Needs Fussy Babies
Baby Chair Baby Slings Baby Monitor Baby Chance

Baby Love Club